International Cup Draw Released

Treats from Oz
International Cup 2011
Revolution Logo
USA Freedom

The AFL has released the draw for the International Cup to be held in Sydney and Melbourne August 12 – 27.  There will be 18 countries competing in the men’s competition. Round one will be a seeding round used to determine two divisions. Teams have been split into six groups of three with each team to play the other two teams in its group in lightning match format of 2 X 15 minute halves. Based on the results of round one the top twelve teams will be placed in Division 1 and the remaining six will make up Division 2.

The Revolution will take on familiar foe Canada Northwind in its first of two matches on Saturday, August 13th.  The Revos will be looking to build up upon their recent success against their neighbors to the North.  The 2010 edition of the 49thParallel Cup saw the Revolution defeat the Northwind by a final score of USA: 9.12.66 to Canada 5.2.32.  Then in their second match of round one the Revos will take on the Peace Team.  This is the second International Cup for the half Israeli half Palestinian Peace Team and will mark the first encounter between the two sides.

On the women’s side, the Freedom begin competition on Wednesday, August 17 against the Australian Multicultural team, made up of players from across Australia's multicultural communities.  They will then take on Papua New Guinea on Thursday, August 18, Canada on Saturday the 20th and Ireland on Wednesday the 24th to conclude round play.  Finals will take place on Friday the 26th in Melbourne.  Based on the results of round play, the 3rd and 4th place teams will compete for third place, while the top two teams will square off for the right to be crowned the first women’s International Cup champions. 

Nominal Prize money has been introduced for the first time.  Prize money will be awarded by way of a grant to the recipient countries for the 2012 season.

For more information, please visit the links below:

Watch AFL