AFL International Cup 2014

The 2014 AFL International Cup is set for August 9-23 in Melbourne, Australia. The USAFL will be represented by three teams the USA Revolution on the men's side and the USA Freedom and USA Liberty in the women's competition.

Watch the Action Live

The AFL wil be live streaming the Revolution vs Finland match on Saturday, August 9 at 7:30pm Eastern/4:30pm Pacific time. The Freedom vs Canada Northern Lights match will follow at 11pm Eastern/8pm Pacific time. The Liberty vs Canada Midnight Suns will air on Tuesday, August 19 at 10pm Eastern/7pm Pacific time. Men's and women's finals matches will air on Thursday, August 21. The women's Grand Final will air Saturday, August 23 at 12:10am Eastern/Friday, August 22 at 9:10 Pacific time. The men's Grand Final will follow on Saturday, August 23 at 2:50am Eastern/Friday, August 22 at 11:50pm Pacific time. Games will be shown at

Follow all the remaining action on Twitter at @usafl1997 and Facebook at USAFL

Meet the USA Teams

The International Cup Overview

  • 2002 marked the beginning of the International Cup concept when 11 mens teams competed. Champions – Ireland.
  • 2005 saw 10 mens teams compete and the introduction of a ‘community round’ within the competition with games played in Wangaratta. Champions - NZ.
  • The 2008 International Cup saw 16 competing teams and 3 cultural teams. Champions – PNG.
  • In 2011 the IC grew to incorporate 23 teams. 18 men's teams across 2 divisions and 5 women’s teams.  Matches were played in both Sydney & Melbourne. Full details available at Men's Champions – Ireland; Women’s Champions – Ireland;  Men's Division 2 winner – Fiji.

2014 Competition Format

There will be 18 men’s and 7 women’s teams competing in the 2014 IC.

Men’s teams: Canada, China, Fiji, Finland, France, Indonesia, Ireland, Great Britain, India, Japan, Nauru, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, South Africa, Sweden, Tonga, USA.

Women’s teams: USA – Freedom, USA – Liberty, Canada – Northern Lights, Canada – Midnight Suns, Ireland, Fiji, Tonga, 

The majority of matches will be played at Royal Park in Parkville and for the first time a community round will be played as curtain-raisers to amateur suburban and country matches.

The women’s grand final will be played at Punt Road Oval and the men’s grand final will be the curtain-raiser to the Round 22 AFL match between Hawthorn and the Geelong Cats at the MCG.

The men’s fixture is divided into three pools. Each team will play three pool matches and will then be ranked from one to 18. Teams will then be split into three groups for finals; top four, Division One and Division Two.

Revolution Match Schedule

Sun Aug 10 Revolution vs Finland Western Oval, Royal Park, Parkville 9:30am Sat Aug 9, 7:30pm EST/4:30pm PST
Wed Aug 13 Revolution vs Canada McAlister Oval, Royal Park, Parkville 3:30pm Wed Aug 13, 1:30am EST/Tue Aug 12 10:30pm PST
Sat Aug 16 Revolution vs New Zealand Montrose Recreation Reserve 12:30pm Fri Aug 15, 10:30pm EST/7:30 PST
Tue Aug 19 Round Finals & Division Matches Royal Park    
Fri Aug 22 Third Place & Division Matches Ransford Oval, Royal Park, Parkville    
Sat Aug 23 Men's Grand Final Melbourne Cricket Ground 4:50pm Sat Aug 23, 2:50am EST/Fri Aug 22 11:50pm PST


Freedom Match Schedule

Sun Aug 10 Freedom vs Canada Northern Lights Western Oval, Royal Park, Parkville  1:30pm Sat Aug 9, 11pm EST/8pm PST
Wed Aug 13 Freedom vs Canada Midnight Suns Ransford Oval, Royal Park, Parkville 9:30am Tue Aug 12, 7pm EST/4pm PST
Sat Aug 16 Freedom vs Tonga Kings Park Reserve, St Albans 4:30pm Sat Aug 16, 2:30am EST/Fri Aug 15, 11:30pm PST 
Wed Aug 20 Freedom vs Fiji McAlister Oval, Royal Park, Parkville 10:00am Tue Aug 20, 8pm/EST/5pm PST
Fri Aug 22 3rd & 5th Place Matches Royal Park    
Sat Aug 23 Women's Grand Final Richmond FC - Punt Road Oval 2:10pm Sat Aug 23, 12:10am EST/Fri Aug 22, 9:10pm PST


Liberty Match Schedule

Wed Aug 13 Liberty vs Canada Northern Lights Western Oval, Royal Park, Parkville 11:30am Tue Aug 12, 9:30pm EST/6:30pm PST
Sat Aug 16 Liberty vs Ireland Plenty Park, Cnr Yan Yean Rd & Memorial Dr, Plenty 2:00pm Sat Aug 16, 12am EST/Fri Aug 15 9pm PST
Mon Aug 18 Libery vs Fiji Ransford Oval, Royal Park, Parkville 11:00am Sun Aug 11, 9pm EST/6pm PST
Wed Aug 20 Liberty vs Canada Midnight Suns Ransford Oval, Royal Park, Parkville 12:00pm Tue Aug 19, 10pm EST/7pm PST
Fri Aug 22 Women's 3rd & 5th Place Matches Royal Park, Parkville    
Sat Aug 23 Women's Grand Final Richmond FC, Punt Road Oval 2:10pm Fri Aug 22, 12:10 EST/Fri Aug 22, 9:10 PST

The 2 week tournament outline is as follows:

Sat Aug 9 Official Launch, Parade of Nations  & AFL match Federation Square Melbourne & MCG (Hawthorn v Melbourne) 1pm
Sun Aug 10 Round 1 Matches Royal Park,  Park St, Parkville  
Wed Aug 13 Round 2 Matches   Royal Park,  Park St, Parkville  
Sat Aug 16 Round 3 - Community Round Matches  Various venues  
Sun Aug 17 AFL Match visit MCG (Melbourne v GWS) 3:20pm
Tue Aug 19 Round 4 Matches  Royal Park, Park St, Parkville  
Fri Aug 22 Finals Round Matches  Royal Park, Park St, Parkville  
Fri Aug 22 Official International Cup Gala Dinner Crown Casino, Melbourne  7pm
Sat Aug 23 AFL IC14 Women's Grand Final Punt Road  Oval, Richmond  FC 2:10pm
Sat Aug 23 AFL IC14 Men's Grand Final MCG. Prior to Hawthorn v Geelong  4:50pm
Sat Aug 23 AFL 9’s at Half time of Hawthorn V Geelong MCG. Half time of Haw v Geelong  

For more details please visit the AFL Community Club website »