Macquarie University Scholarship

The 2004 Macquarie University Australian Football Scholarship is now open for applications.  The Scholarship recipient will attend Macquarie University in Sydney for one semester, receiving free tuition and free accommodation.  The student will be able to play for the Macquarie University Kookaburras in the Sydney Football Association, or other appropriate club, and learn the game from Macquarie's experienced coaching staff, including its Head Coach, David Beauchamp.  The Kookaburras were SFA premiers in 1998, 1999 and 2000.  Macquarie University is a premier destination for U.S. college students, and it has hundreds of U.S. students participating in exchange programs and study-abroad programs every year.  The Macquarie Kookaburras and the SFA have years of experience teaching footy to Australians and non-Australians alike.  The scholarship winner may also have the opportunity to take part in an internship involving sports management. 


The scholarship pays for one semester of free tuition to attend Macquarie University as well as accommodation for the duration of the semester. The student will be responsible for travel and visa-associated costs.  For information on accommodation see  The scholarship is open to all U.S. citizens currently attending a four-year college in the United States and playing for a USAFL club.  It is open to students in all academic disciplines taught at Macquarie University.  The applicant will be chosen on the basis of both academic and on-field performance and will require a minimum GPA of 2.5.


To be considered, applications must be postmarked, prior to September 30th, 2003, and must include a cover letter, a college transcript, and two reference letters, one from a professor at the applicant's college and one from the head coach of the applicant's USAFL team.  To apply to travel to Australia and attend Macquarie from 4th of March to 3rd of July, 2004, please send applications to Andrea Caesar at:


USAFL Office

P.O. Box 835

Frederick, MD 21705


The winner will be selected by a committee chaired by Scott Nicholas (Revolution Head Coach), and will also include James Paterson (New York Magpies) and John Phair (Baltimore Washington Eagles).  For more information on:


Macquarie University:


2003 winner, Tim Weir:


- Office Manager

Posted in 
Watch AFL