Revos Announce Squad for 2022 49th Parallel Cup

Revolution Logo

It's been seven long years, but the 49th Parallel Cup returns this summer.

It'll be a hot night of International Aussie rules football in Toronto as the USA Revolution men's team tangle with the Canada Northwind on Saturday night, August 13th.  It'll be the Revolutions first matches since 2018 when they played a series in Dublin and Belfast against both the Ireland Warriors and Belfast Redbacks.

This will be the 11th Parallel Cup meeting between the American and Canadian senior men's teams and 17th overall meeting.  The Revos have only lost once, a 45-32 result at the 2007 PC in Vancouver.  The last matchup between the teams saw the USA come out 45-25 winners at the opening game of the last AFL International Cup in 2017.  The Parallel Cup was last contested in August, 2015, when the US accounted for the Northwind by 16 points on a sweltering night in Fort Lauderdale.

Below is the 24-man roster that coach Tom Ellis will take to Toronto.  Fifteen different USAFL clubs will be represented, with Seattle and Austin accounting for three players each.  There will be nine returnees from that IC17 campaign that saw the USA finish fourth of the eighteen teams competing, amongst them ruck options Donald Lee and Mark McClure, atheltic utilities Ryan McGettigan and Clyde Simpson, and defensive magician Saleh Tyebjee.

New faces in the red-white-and-blue include star ruckman Nolan Cox, former Olympic rower Rob Munn, former West Perth ruck Sam Murphy, and Swiss-Army-Knife rover CJ Adams.  A handful of players are coming off solid performances in Regional Championship Series play, including Cox, Adams, and both Josh Curtis and Peter Bailey from Des Moines.

Congrats to those selected, and best of luck against the Northwind in August!

  • CJ Adams, Minnesota Freeze
  • Peter Bailey, Des Moines Roosters
  • Nolan Cox, Austin Crows
  • Josh Curtis, Des Moines Roosters
  • Caleb Dougherty, Kansas City Power
  • Steve Fashant, Minnesota Freeze
  • Daniel Garcia, Houston Lonestars
  • Ryan Garthright, Denver Bulldogs
  • Sam Gigliotti, Austin Crows
  • Kendall Hutchings, Sacramento Suns
  • Donald Lee, Los Angeles Dragons
  • Michael Linehan, Austin Crows
  • Dan Livy, Golden Gate Roos
  • Timmy Lindfelt, Golden Gate Roos
  • Gabe Martin del Campo, Orange County Giants
  • Mark McClure, Columbus Cats
  • Ryan McGettigan, Philadelphia Hawks
  • Zac McKinney, Seattle Grizzlies
  • Robb Munn, Seattle Grizzlies
  • Sam Murphy, Los Angeles Dragons
  • Keith Phillips, North Carolina Tigers
  • Derrick Shotwell, Cincinnati Dockers
  • Clyde Simpson, Columbus Cats
  • Saleh Tyebjee, Seattle Grizzlies
Posted in 
Watch AFL